True Crime by Samantha Kolesnik

“I was the black sheep, the sheep with teeth, the sheep even the wolf wouldn’t eat.”

This book is not for everyone. It’s grotesque, horrifying, depressing, and shocking. With the brutality of Cormac McCarthy and the cruelty of Jack Ketchum, Samantha Kolesnik wrestles the reins from men who have written about the heinous treatment of women and drives the cart right off a cliff.

The plot is a straight line that picks up speed almost immediately. There are no twists and turns, just terrifying developments that elicit audible gasps as Kolesnik crosses any and every boundary you might have.

These characters—though appalling—show that everyone is capable of love and hate. Part of the horror of True Crime is the sympathy you feel for someone capable of such destruction. Hurt people hurt people, and that is never so evident as it is here.

I loved this book. For fans of Ketchum, McCarthy, Barker, and Laymon, do yourself a favor and pick this book up. It’s a quick read, which is a blessing, because I’m not sure if I’d be able to take another hundred pages of True Crime.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: